IEEE International Conference on Communications
14-23 June 2021 // Virtual / Montreal
Connectivity – Security – Privacy


Live Program

Friday, 18 June 2021

09:30am - 10:00am (EDT)

Keynote: "The Evolution of Spectrum Sharing: TVWS, CBRS, 6 GHz, and Beyond,"

Speaker: Andrew Clegg, Spectrum Engineering Lead for Google Inc

Short Bio: Andrew Clegg is the Spectrum Engineering Lead for Google. He is presently focused primarily on identifying spectrum sharing opportunities for wireless networks and services. Prior to joining Google, he served as the spectrum manager for the U.S. National Science Foundation for 11 years. At NSF, he founded the Enhancing Access to the Radio Spectrum (EARS) program, a $50 million program dedicated to funding academic and small business research focused on improving spectrum efficiency and access. Prior to NSF, he was a Lead Member of Technical Staff at what is now AT&T Mobility. He has over 25 years' experience in national and international spectrum management for both government and commercial applications, and was a member of the U.S. delegation to two World Radiocommunication Conferences.

1-2 min: The moderator presents the keynote speaker
20-25 min:  Dr. Andrew Clegg  gives the keynote
5-10 min:  Debate with attendees moderated by the moderator
Total:     30 min.

10:00am - 11:00am (EDT)
Invited Panel:  “Next Generation Spectrum Sharing Technology: Opportunities, Challenges and Roadmap”


Nada Golmie,  Division Chief, Wireless Networks Division, Communications Technology Laboratory (CTL),  National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).

Panel Members:

  • Zhengdao Wang, NSF Program Director and Professor at Iowa State University
  • Jason Coder,  Group Leader, Shared Spectrum Metrology group, CTL, NIST.
  • Mark Gibson, Sr. Director, Business Development & Spectrum Policy at CommScope Inc.
  • Rose Hu, Associate Dean for Research and Professor at Utah State University

5-10 min:          The moderator  introduces the topic of the panel and panelists
40 min:              Keynotes or talks given by 4 panelists
10-15 min:        Debate and discussion with attendees, hosted by the moderator.
Total:  60 min.


Presentation Sessions (on-demand):

Friday, June 18 12:30 - 2:00

Session I: WS 16-01 Protocols and Techniques
Session chair: Anirudha Sahoo

  1. Fair Licensed Spectrum Sharing Between Two MNOs Using Resource Optimization, Tianchen Wang and Raviraj Adve (University of Toronto, Canada)
  2. Cognitive Overlay for Inter-system Cellular Dynamic Spectrum Sharing in the Downlink
    Jared S. Everett (Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory & George Mason University, USA); Brian L Mark (George Mason University, USA)
  3. Reduced-Feedback Scheduling Policies for Energy-efficient MAC
    Priyadarshi Mukherjee (University of Cyprus, Cyprus); Swades De (Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, India)
  4. Energy-Efficient Device-to-Device Privacy Content Transmission in Uplink Relay Networks
    Qiang Li, Pinyi Ren, Dongyang Xu and Yuncong Xie (Xi'an Jiaotong University, China)
  5. A Deep Reinforcement Learning Based Spectrum Access Scheme in Unlicensed Bands
    Errong Pei and Yige Huang (Chongqing University of Posts and Telecommunications, China); Yun Li (ChongQing University of Posts and Telecommunications of China, China)
  6. How to define utility for use in practical wireless network resource trading platforms
    Ramtin Ranji and Elena Sitnikova (UNSW Canberra, Australia); Frank den Hartog (University of New South Wales & DoVes Research, Australia)

Session II: WS 16-02: Measurement and Performance Evaluation
Session chair: Yao Ma

  1. Measurement Study of Dense Networks with Heterogeneous IEEE 802.11ac Wi-Fi Devices
    Andra M. Voicu, Pheobe Agbo, Ljiljana Simi? and Petri Mähönen (RWTH Aachen University, Germany); Marina Petrova (KTH Royal Institute of Technolgy, Sweden)
  2. DeepAir: Predicting Radio Spectrum Usage at Scale with Deep Temporal Convolutional Networks
    Amir Ghasemi (Communications Research Centre Canada, Canada); Janaki Parekh (Communications Research Centre, Canada)
  3.  Hidden-Nodes in coexisting LAA & Wi-Fi: a measurement study of real deployments   Vanlin Sathya (University of Chicago, USA); Muhammad Iqbal Cholilur Rochman (National Taiwan University of Science and Technology, Indonesia); Monisha Ghosh (University Of Chicago, USA)
  4. A Configurable 60GHz Phased Array Platform for Multi-Link mmWave Channel Characterization
    Anton A Shkel and Alireza Mehrabani (Facebook Inc., USA); Julius Kusuma (Facebook Connectivity, USA)
  5. An Optimal Sensor Deployment Technique for Spectrum Monitoring Applications
    Yifeng Zhou (Communications Research Centre, Canada)
  6. Spectrum sharing between RLANs and terrestrial links in the 6 GHz band
    Nadia Yoza-Mitsuishi (University of Colorado Boulder, USA); Peter Mathys (University of Colorado, USA)    

Session III: WS 16-03: Sensing and Detection
Session chair: Daniel Kuester

  1. Blind Receiver Design for Downlink Cognitive-Radio NOMA Networks
    Hamad Mohamad Ali Yahya (University of Manchester, United Kingdom (Great Britain)); Emad Alsusa (Manchester University, United Kingdom (Great Britain)); Arafat Al-Dweik (Khalifa University, United Arab Emirates)
  2. Cooperative Spectrum Sensing: A New Approach for Minimum Interference and Maximum Utilisation
    Ogeen Toma and Miguel López-Benítez (University of Liverpool, United Kingdom (Great Britain))    
  3. Convolutional Neural Network for Asynchronous Packet Parameter Identification in Dense Wi-Fi
    Muhammad Harry Bintang Pratama, Dody Ichwana, Leonardo Jr. Lanante and Hiroshi Ochi (Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan)
  4. Adjacent Channel Interference Suppression to Enhance Spectrum Sharing for Co-located Devices
    Xiaolei Huo (UESTC, China); Wei Zhang (CETC RongWei Electronic Technology Co., Ltd., China); Wenbo Guo and Chenxing Li (University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, China); Hongzhi Zhao (UESTC, China); Ying Liu (University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, China)    
  5. Optimizing Resource Constrained Distributed Collaborative Sensing
    Michael Stecklein, Hasan Burhan Beytur, Gustavo de Veciana and Haris Vikalo (The University of Texas at Austin, USA)

Diamond Patrons

Gold Patrons

Silver Patrons

Bronze Patrons